Media and Publications Committee

Duties:

  • Work under the direction of the Executive Board in support of MLA and its units.
  •  Brief other committee members on the activities of their respective sub-committee. Duties of each sub-committee that may be reported upon include:
    •  Marketing:
      1.  The creation and distribution of public relations and marketing messages directed to the MLA membership, Missouri’s library community, and the Missouri public.
      2.  Creation and direction of promotional campaigns for events such as workshops, contests, and information/education programs such as National Library Week and National Library Workers Day.
      3.  Creation and direct sales of MLA branded merchandise.
      4.  Identification of the Association’s marketing needs.
      5.  Support of MLA units on a variety of projects each year.
    •  MO INFO:
      1.  Dissemination of information through MO INFO, MLA’s print publication.
      2.  Recommendation of updates to the MLA Publication Guidelines as needed.
      3. Support for the activities of Communities of Interest through MO INFO as requested.
      4.  Solicitation of articles and columns about library related issues from MLA members, the Missouri library community, and the greater library community as well.
      5.  The posting of invitations to read MO INFO on the Association’s social media.
    •  Social Media:
      1. Dissemination of information about MLA to members and to the general public via its social media platforms, as relevant.
      2.  Identification of new social media trends and their recommended adoption
      3. by the Association.
      4.  Creation, maintenance, and when necessary, implementation of a crisis communication plan.
      5.  Moderation of social media posts.
    •  Website:
      1.  Dissemination of information about MLA to members and to the general public via its website, as relevant.
      2.  Maintenance of Jobline, the employment service of the Missouri Library Association.
      3.  How the sub-committee is supporting the activities of the other Media and
      4. Publications sub-committees.
  •  Coordinate with other sub-committees to ensure that projects are handled by the appropriate sub-committee.
  •  Coordinate efforts to share tasks among sub-committees when necessary.
  •  Identify additional publication needs (e.g. new social media, print publication updates, marketing trends) and make recommendations to the Executive Board as appropriate.

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

2018 Media and Publications Committee

Meredith McCarthy, CHAIR  2016-2018,    mmccarthy@jeffcolib.org,
Rachel Brekhus 2012-2018 (Website), brekhusr@missouri.edu
Lindsey Warner, 2015-2019 (MO INFO),  lwarner3@emporia.edu
Sarah Reando, 2018-2019 (Social Media), sarahreando87@gmail.com
April Roy, ex officio, MLA President, mlapresident@molib.org

2018 Marketing Subcommittee

Meredith McCarthy, CHAIR  2016-2018,   mmccarthy@jeffcolib.org,
Addison Lucchi, 2017-2019, alucchi77@gmail.com
Megan Garrett, 2017-2019,  megangarrett@kclibrary.org
Jami Livingston, 2017-2019,  jlivingston@adairco.org
Emily Brown, 2018-2019, ebrown@mymcpl.org
Colleen Norman, 2018-2019, cnorman@mymcpl.org

2018 MO INFO Subcommittee

Lindsey Warner, CHAIR, 2015-2019, lwarner3@emporia.edu
Ken Satterfield, 2015-2018 ksatterfield@wordandway.org
Hong Li, 2016-2019, li-h@mssu.edu
Desiree Van Tassel, 2016-2019, desiree.vantassel@gmail.com
Kristen Sherry, 2018-2019, ksherry@stchlibrary.org
Nicole Walsh, 2018-2019, walsh@amigors.org
Jenna Feldstein, 2018-2019
Chris LeBeau, 2018-2019
Jason Phinney, 2018-2019
Rene Burress, 2018-2019, burress@ucmo.edu

2018 Web Subcommittee:

Rachel Brekhus, 2012-2018, CHAIR,  brekhusr@missouri.edu
Amy Nickless, 2015-2019, amycnickless@hotmail.com
Shannon Mawhiney, 2015-2019,
smawhiney@missouristate.edu
Blair Pickard, 2015-2019, eblair@socket.net
Cindy Thompson, 2016-2019, thompsoncym@umkc.edu
Xiaocan(Lucy) Wang, 2017-2019, wang-x@mssu.edu
Shelley McDavid, 2017-2019, mcdavids@MST.EDU

2018 Social Media Subcommittee:

Sarah Reando, 2016-2019, CHAIR, sarahreando87@gmail.com
Ethan Evans, 2017-1019 ethan.evans@lathropschools.com
Michelle Swane, 2017-2019 swanem@ozarkregionallibrary.lib.mo.us
Rebecca Van Kniest, 2017-2019 RVanKniest@Fontbonne.edu