Intellectual Freedom

BANNING BOOKS GIVE US SILENCE WHEN WE NEED SPEECH. IT CLOSES OUR EARS WHEN WE NEED TO LISTEN. IT MAKES US BLIND WHEN WE NEED SIGHT.

–PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, STEPHEN CHBOSKY, 1990

 

 

MLA IFC TRAINING MATERIALS

ALL TRAINING MATERIALS ARE POSTED HERE FOR THE SUPPORT OF THE MLA MEMBERSHIP. PLEASE USE THEM AND/OR CHANGE THEM AS APPROPRIATE. WE ALWAYS WELCOME FEEDBACK OR SUGGESTIONS FOR BETTER THE CONTENT AND UPDATING OUR PRACTICAL & EVERYDAY SCENARIOS, PLEASE EMAIL THE IFC CHAIR WITH ANY COMMUNICATIONS FOR THE COMMITTEE.

THE IFC IS AVAILABLE TO FACILITATE WORKSHOPS, PLEASE EMAIL THE IFC CHAIR FOR SCHEDULING AND ANY QUESTIONS.

THE SCRIPT

THE PRESENTATION

 

THE SCENARIO DECKS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ALA & IF SUPPORT LINKS

ALA’S OFFICE FOR INTELLECTUAL FREEDOMCHALLENGE REPORTING
ALA IF ISSUES AND RESOURCES

STAY INFORMED WITH FREE WEEKLY IF NEWS

 

DIRECT LINKS TO ALA INTELLECTUAL FREEDOM GUIDING DOCUMENTS

THE MLA IFC

Duties:

  • Monitor legislation and other efforts that affect first amendment rights to libraries, librarians, and their clientele.
  • Encourage libraries to protect those rights by:
  1. Adopting ALA’s Freedom to Read Statement, Library Bill of Rights, and other statements adopted by the American Library Association and endorsed by the Missouri Library Association.
  2. Adopting selection and collection development policies that protect against challenges.
  3. Providing training opportunities with regard to intellectual freedom issues.
  • Support and implement the MLA Statement on Intellectual Freedom.
  • Assist and support MLA members in intellectual freedom concerns as requested.

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

 

2020 Intellectual Freedom Committee:

Tiffany Mautino, CHAIR, 2016-2019, tmautino@mymcpl.org
Andrea Miller, 2016-2019, andreamiller@missouristate.edu
Joe Kohlburn, 2016-2019, jkohlbur@jeffco.edu
Kara Bell, 2018-2020, kbell@scenicregional.org
Ying Li, 2018-2020, yli@stchas.edu
Kris Dyer, 2018-2020, kdyer@mymcpl.org
Colleen Norman, 2020-2022, cnorman@mymcpl.org
Rachelle Brandel, 2020-2022, rbrandel@fergusonlibrary.net
Cindy Dudenhoffer, ex officio, cmdudenh@centralmethodist.edu