Intellectual Freedom

Duties:

  • Monitor legislation and other efforts that affect first amendment rights to libraries, librarians, and their clientele.
  • Encourage libraries to protect those rights by:
    1. Adopting ALA’s Freedom to Read Statement, Library Bill of Rights, and other statements adopted by the American Library Association and endorsed by the Missouri Library Association.
    2. Adopting selection and collection development policies that protect against challenges.
    3. Providing training opportunities with regard to intellectual freedom issues.
  • Support and implement the MLA Statement on Intellectual Freedom.
  • Assist and support MLA members in intellectual freedom concerns as requested.

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

2017 Intellectual Freedom Committee:

Bruce Durazzi, CHAIR 2015-2017, bruce.durazzi@gmail.com
Andrea Miller, 2015-2017, andreamiller@missouristate.edu
Joe Kohlburn, 2015-2017, jkohlbur@jeffco.edu
Rebecca Eliceiri, 2015-2017, rkeliceiri@stchas.edu
Beth Shapiro, 2015-2017, Eshapiro@cpsk12.org
Staci Pratt, 2015-2017, sjeanpratt@gmail.com
Cari Rerat, 2015-2017, crerat@joplinpubliclibrary.org
Crystal Bauer, 2015-2017, crystalbauer00@gmail.com
Tammy Parrott, 2016-2018, tparrott@mymcpl.org
Tiffany Mautino, 2016-2018, tmautino@mymcpl.org
Vicky Baker ex-officio, 2017, mlapresident@molib.org