Conference Site Selection


  • Identifies, visits, and evaluates possible facilities for the conference.
  • Requests technical assessment of the proposed facility by MOREnet.
  • Selects conference dates based on the availability of facilities, significant religious holidays, competing library association conferences, and ALA’s calendar.
  • Presents facility recommendations and dates for the conference to the Executive Board for
  • approval no later than 18 months before the conference.

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

2019 Exploratory Site Selection Committee (Kansas City, MO)

Brent Husher, Chair,
Jodie Borgerding, MLA President,
Vicky Baker, MLA President-Elect,
Jennifer Peters, Member-At-Large,
Erin Gray, Past Conference Coordinator (2016),
Renee Brumett, Past Conference Coordinator (2016),
Anna Strackeljahn, Current Conference Coordinator (2017),
Justin Megahan, Current Conference Coordinator (2017),
2018 Conference Co-Coordinator, Kimberly Moeller (2018),
2018 Conference Co-Coordinator, Debbie Luchenbill (2018),
Tiffany Mautino, 2019 Conference Coordinator,
Mardi Mahaffy, Member Representative,
Tracy Byerly, Amigos, Management Representative,
Vendor Representative, TBD
Technology Representative, TBD
Tiffany Mautino, 2019 Conference Coordinator,
Katie Gregory, 2019 Conference Coordinator,


2020 Exploratory Site Selection Committee (Springfield Area)

April Roy, Past President,
Erin Gray, President,
Cindy Dudenhoffer, President – Elect,
Anna Strackeljahn, 2017 Coordinator,
Justin Megahan, 2017 coordinator,
Tiffany Mautino, 2019 Coordinator,
Kaite Gregory, 2019 Coordinator,
Kimberly Moeller, 2018 Coordinator,
Debbie Luchenbill, 2018 coordinator,
Katie Hopkins, 2020 Coordinator,
Jessi East, 2020 Coordinator,
Tracy Byerly, Management/Vendor Representative,