Awards

Duties:

  • Annually solicit nominees for most MLA Awards. Deadline for receipt of nominees is July 1st unless otherwise noted.
  • Submit name(s) to MLA President or Executive Board for approval.
  • Select the ALA Emerging Leader for sponsorship by MLA, with the approval of the MLA President and Executive Board.
  • Prepare press releases regarding awards for distribution to appropriate media outlets and forwards to Publication Chair.
  • Notify award winners as soon as possible after selection, so they may invite guests to the ceremony.
  • Present the Awards at the Awards Banquet during the MLA Conference (usually by the Awards Committee chair or an appointed representative and/or committee members).

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

Awards Committee 2022: awardschair@molib.org

Grace Jackson-Brown 2019-2023 gjackson-brown@missouristate.edu  Chair 2022
Daisy Porter-Reynolds 2019-2022 dporter@slpl.org Past- Chair
Taylor Bequette 2021-2024 adultservices@little-dixie.lib.mo.us
Jay Bitner 2021-2024 jbitner@mymcpl.org
Jodie Borgerding 2021-2024 jlborgerding@molib.org
Meagan Parrett 2021-2024 mparrett@stchlibrary.org
Claudia Young Ex-Officio mlapresident@molib.org / ex-officio 2022

2021 Missouri Author Awards Subcommittee:

Deb Loguda-Summers 2020-2022 dsummers@atsu.edu Chair 2022
Jane Mulvihill-Jones 2018-2021 JMulvihill-Jones@mymcpl.org
Katie Stover 2020-2022 kaitestover@kclibrary.org
Anna Maria Gonzalez 2020-2022 agonzalez@slcl.org
Kevin Korinek 2020-2022 kkorinek@slcl.org

For lists of Missouri Library Association awards, please see the “Awards” page and its subpages.