• Annually solicit nominees for most MLA Awards. Deadline for receipt of nominees is July 1st unless otherwise noted.
  • Submit name(s) to MLA President or Executive Board for approval.
  • Select the ALA Emerging Leader for sponsorship by MLA, with the approval of the MLA President and Executive Board.
  • Prepare press releases regarding awards for distribution to appropriate media outlets and forwards to Publication Chair.
  • Notify award winners as soon as possible after selection, so they may invite guests to the ceremony.
  • Present the Awards at the Awards Banquet during the MLA Conference (usually by the Awards Committee chair or an appointed representative and/or committee members).

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

Awards Committee 2022:

Grace Jackson-Brown 2019-2023  Chair 2022
Daisy Porter-Reynolds 2019-2022 Past- Chair
Taylor Bequette 2021-2024
Jay Bitner 2021-2024
Jodie Borgerding 2021-2024
Meagan Parrett 2021-2024
Claudia Young Ex-Officio / ex-officio 2022

2022 Missouri Author Awards Subcommittee:

Deb Loguda-Summers 2020-2022 Chair 2022
Jane Mulvihill-Jones 2018-2021
Katie Stover 2020-2022
Anna Maria Gonzalez 2020-2022
Kevin Korinek 2020-2022

For lists of Missouri Library Association awards, please see the “Awards” page and its subpages.