Awards

Duties:

  • Annually solicit nominees for most MLA Awards. Deadline for receipt of nominees is July 1st unless otherwise noted.
  • Submit name(s) to MLA President or Executive Board for approval.
  • Select the ALA Emerging Leader for sponsorship by MLA, with the approval of the MLA President and Executive Board.
  • Prepare press releases regarding awards for distribution to appropriate media outlets and forwards to Publication Chair.
  • Notify award winners as soon as possible after selection, so they may invite guests to the ceremony.
  • Present the Awards at the Awards Banquet during the MLA Conference (usually by the Awards Committee chair or an appointed representative and/or committee members).

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

2020 Awards Committee:

Diana Platt, Chair, 2018-2021, dianaplatt@kclibrary.org
Meggan Moore, Past Chair, 2017-2020
Grace Jackson-Browne, 2019-2021, gjackson-brown@missouristate.edu
Daisy Porter-Reynolds, 2019-2021 dporter@slpl.org

2019 Missouri Author Award Subcommittee:

LynnDee Wathen, CHAIR, 2018-2020, lwathen@mymcpl.org
Kenneth Hardcastle, 2018-2020, kenneth.hardcastle@yahoo.com
Megan Maurer, 2018-2020, mmaurer@scenicregional.org
Jane Jones, 2018-2020, JMulvihill-Jones@mymcpl.org
Kara Drury, 2018-2020, kdrury@mymcpl.org
Katie Stover, 2020-2022, kaitestover@kclibrary.org
Anna Maria Gonzalez, 2020-2022, agonzalez@slcl.org
Deb Loguda-Summers, 2020-2022, dsummers@atsu.edu
Kevin Korinek, 2020-2022, kkorinek@slcl.org
Tanya “Lola” Shelton-Council, 2020-2022, sheltont@trailslibrary.org

For lists of Missouri Library Association awards, please see the “Awards” page and its subpages.