Awards

Duties:

  • Annually solicit nominees for most MLA Awards. Deadline for receipt of nominees is July 1st unless otherwise noted.
  • Submit name(s) to MLA President or Executive Board for approval.
  • Select the ALA Emerging Leader for sponsorship by MLA, with the approval of the MLA President and Executive Board.
  • Prepare press releases regarding awards for distribution to appropriate media outlets and forwards to Publication Chair.
  • Notify award winners as soon as possible after selection, so they may invite guests to the ceremony.
  • Present the Awards at the Awards Banquet during the MLA Conference (usually by the Awards Committee chair or an appointed representative and/or committee members).

Duties outlined in the MLA Handbook.

2018 Awards Committee:

Tony Benningfield, CHAIR, 2017-2020, tabdspl1935@gmail.com
Meggan Moore  2017-2020,  megganm@thelibrary.org
Beth Ann Caldarello, Past Chair, 2015-2018,  bcaldarello@mail.ncmissouri.edu
April Roy, President ex-offficio 2018 mlapresident@molib.orgaprilroy@kclibrary.org

2018 Missouri Author Award Subcommittee:

Regina Cooper, CHAIR, 2016-2018, reginac@thelibrary.org
Brian Grubbs, 2016-2018, briang@thelibrary.org
Lisa Sampley, 2016-2018, lisas@thelibrary.org
Kara Drury, 2018-2020, kdrury@mymcpl.org
Michelle Franklin, 2016-2018,  mfranklin2@sfccmo.edu
Emma DeLooze-Klein, 2016-2018, edelooze@kirkwoodpubliclibrary.org
Heather Arnold, 2017-2019, harnold@kirkwoodpubliclibrary.org
Ann Riley, 2017-2019, rileyac@missouri.edu
Jenny Ellis, 2017-2019, jellis@sjplnow.com
Rachel Grime, 2017-2019, rgrime@little-dixie.lib.mo.us
Jennifer Brady, 2017-2019 bradyj79@uw.edu
Kenneth Hardcastle, 2018-2020, kenneth.hardcastle@yahoo.com
Megan Maurer, 2018-2020, mmaurer@scenicregional.org
Jane Jones, 2018-2020, JMulvihill-Jones@mymcpl.org
LynnDee Wathen, 2018-2020, lwathen@mymcpl.org

For lists of Missouri Library Association awards, please see the “Awards” page and its subpages.