2017 Conference

Bridging the Gap
MLA Annual Conference 2017

October 4-6, 2017

Sheraton Westport Chalet
191 W Port Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63146

Conference Presentations

Conference Evaluation form

Thumbnail of program coverMLA Conference 2017 Schedule (final version)
This is the exact print copy that you will receive at conference registration. Program Addendum (Copies will be included with printed program.)

MLA Conference Map

MLA 2017 At a Glance Schedule

Join the MLA Annual Conference Facebook Event Page:


Wednesday October 4, 1:00 pm-2:00 pm

MLA Welcomes Our Opening Keynote Speaker The Honorable Jimmie M. Edwards Judge of the 22nd Judicial Circuit of Missouri- St. Louis

Judge Edwards

Judge Jimmie M. Edwards has served the circuit bench in St. Louis, Missouri for over 25 years. From 2007 to 2012, Judge Edwards was the Chief Judge of the Family and Juvenile Courts. Frustrated by the rising number of high school dropouts with no job skills and no legitimate means to earn a living, Judge Jimmie M. Edwards conceived an idea for an innovative type of school that could educate and supervise these delinquent youths. With help from the St. Louis Public School District, MERS Goodwill Industries, St. Louis Family Court and numerous supporters the Innovative Concept Academy opened its doors in the fall of 2009. This first-of its-kind school has received national acclaim from the CBS Early Show, the Today Show and the Wall Street Journal. PEOPLE magazine named Judge Edwards one of its 2011 heroes of the year. Ebony magazine selected him to its 2013 Power 100 most influential in America List and Chief Justice of the United States John Roberts presented Judge Jimmie M. Edwards with the William Rehnquist Award for Judicial Excellence-one of our nation’s highest judicial awards. And in 2016, Judge Edwards was inducted into the Missouri Public Affairs Hall of Fame.

Friday October 6, 12pm – 1pm MLA Welcomes Our Closing Keynote Speaker James G. Neal President, American Library AssociationJames G. Neal

James G. Neal, is University Librarian Emeritus at Columbia University. He served as Vice President for Information Services and University Librarian at Columbia University from 20012014, providing leadership for university academic computing and a system of twenty-two libraries. Previously, he served as Dean of University Libraries at Indiana and Johns Hopkins. He also held administrative positions in libraries at Penn State, Notre Dame, and the City University of New York. Neal is President of the American Library Association (ALA). He has served on the Council and Executive Board, and was ALA Treasurer from 2010-13. He is a member of the OCLC Board of Trustees and has served on many Boards including the Association of Research Libraries as President, Chair of the Research Libraries Group (RLG), and Chair of the National Information Standards Organization (NISO). He is currently on the Boards of the Freedom to Read Foundation, and the Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO). He has served as Treasurer on both. Neal is a national and international speaker, consultant and published author. He has served on the Scholarly Communication committees of ARL and ACRL and as Chair of the Steering Committee of SPARC, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition. He has represented the American library community in testimony on copyright matters before Congressional committees. He has been the recipient of many awards including: Academic Librarian of the Year by the Association of College and Research Libraries, ALA’s Hugh Atkinson Memorial Award and Melvil Dewey Medal Award. He also received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Alberta, the ALA Joseph W. Lippincott Award, the Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor Award and the Scroll of Appreciation by the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) Award.

MLA  2017 email:  mlaconference2017@gmail.com

Conference Co-chairs are:
Anna Strackeljahn, astrackeljahn@gmail.com, 618-239-6184
Justin Megahan, JMegahan@fontbonne.edu, 314-889-4566