Missouri Author Awards

About the Award

One for adult fiction and one for adult nonfiction.

The awards are to encourage and recognize Missouri authors and promote interest in local authors’ books, whether the books are about Missouri or another subject. Awards are based on literary merit. An honored author must be a Missourian by birth or have lived in Missouri for at least five years. The book for which the award is presented must have been published within the past three calendars years prior to the year of the Association Convention at which the award is presented. Reprints of works originally published prior to the cutoff year of the award are not eligible for consideration. An author’s body of work is ineligible. (The Missouri Literary Award already exists for that purpose). An editor or translator may be considered if the book is of value to the permanent record of the State. The honoree must be living. Each award consists of a $250 honorarium and a commemorative plaque.

Award Winners

Award Winners, 2016 (first awards) to present

Nominations: Electronic submission is required. All submissions must be received by November 30, 2022

Please enter the security code:
security code
Security Code: