Meritorious Achievement Award

About the Award

The Meritorious Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to libraries in Missouri. A recipient must be either an individual outside of the library profession or a retired librarian. Nominees must reside in Missouri and should have made either a contribution to libraries that gained recognition beyond the local level or have made an innovative contribution in the decisive factors in library development. This award may be presented posthumously.

Award Recipients

2021None granted 
2019Secretary of State Jay AshcroftMissouri Secretary of State
2018Melissa Carr(Retired) Daniel Boone Regional Library
2016Lorraine Sandstrom(Retired) Springfield-Greene County Library District
2013not awarded
2012Carol GrimesSpringfield-Greene County Library District
2011Marilyn McLeod(Retired) Daniel Boone Regional Library
2010Dick Wilding(Retired) Mid-Continent Public Library
2009awarded but declined
2008Paul White(Retired) Mid-Continent Public Library
2007not awarded
2006Carl SandstedtSt. Charles City-County Library District
2005Robin Kepohl(Retired) MOBIUS
2004not awarded
2003Martha MaxwellJefferson County Library, High Ridge
2002Albert Prince Marshall
2000,2001not awarded
1999Governor Mel Carnahan
1998Bill MitchellMOREnet
1996,1997not awarded
1995Library Board of TrusteesRiver Bluffs Regional Library
1993,1994not awarded
1992Ronald G. Bohley (posthumously)Accepted by Barbara Bohley
1991Gene Martin


Please enter the security code:
security code
Security Code: