MLA 2021 Annual Conference

This year’s MLA conference will be held in person at the Doubletree Hilton in Chesterfield (STL metro) from 9/29-9/30. While it has been shortened from to 2 days, we still have all the activities you’ve come to expect and enjoy and truly hope you’ll join us and have a great experience.

Just to get you a little excited:

For those of you who will be in the area on Tuesday night, the Bohley Trivia Night will be held at the hotel.

On Wednesday afternoon Chris Pryor will give the opening Keynote and the exhibits will open at 4pm with a reception followed by the Awards Ceremony to be held this year in the exhibits hall where everyone can stay and celebrate the best of best in Missouri.

On Thursday there will be a Member Meet and Greet followed by the Annual Meeting followed by a closing reception with Keynote speaker Jarret Krosoczka joining us virtually.

We’ve come through a rough year and while it’s not all over yet, we hope this conference can be time to come together, see old friends and colleagues, make new ones and learn from each other.

We look forward to seeing and learning something from each of you. Register today:

Conference @ a Glance Schedule:

Vendor Prospectus and Registration

Nominate your colleagues for the MLA Awards!

Do you have a colleague who ran a terrific PR campaign or a peer who’s new to the profession and deserves recognition, or can you think of a library whose service over the past year has been even more outstanding than the rest? Consider nominating them for the 2021 MLA awards. The process is easy; there are links below to each award’s description and application.

Here are the categories:

Missouri Library of the Year
Outstanding Library Employee (non-MLS)
Outstanding Professional Librarian
Outstanding New Librarian
Community Partnership Award
Public Relations Achievement Award
Virginia G. Young Outstanding Service Award (for a library trustee/board member)
Meritorious Achievement Award (for someone retired or outside the profession)
Missouri Author Award (for an author from Missouri)
MLA Literary Award (for a book about Missouri)

Nominations are due by Friday, June 25. Please let one of us know if you have any questions or ideas – we’d love to hear from you.

Daisy Porter-Reynolds, Committee Chair
Diana Platt, Immediate Past Chair
Grace Jackson-Brown
Meagan Parrett