Public Librarians and Aspiring Librarians: Need a Mentor? We’ve Got You Covered!

Are you a new or newish public librarian?  Are you experienced but starting a new position? Are you a student who wants to learn more about being a public librarian?  It sounds like you could really use a mentor!

Fortunately, the Public Library Community of Interest is forming a mentoring program just for you!  This is a great opportunity to learn more about your special area of public library interest from an experienced professional and to form a bond of friendship with another librarian from our state.

Eligible mentees must be members of the Missouri Library Association and must be able to commit to at least one meeting per month for up to a year with your mentor.  Meetings can be held via phone, email, or in person.  Anyone interested in having a mentor is encouraged to use this sign up sheet:

To find out more about the Public Libraries Community of Interest mentoring program, go to the PLCI info page.

Early Bird Conference Registration is Open!

Logo: "Stronger Together"

Early Bird Registration for the 2018 Missouri Library Association Conference is now open and goes through August 14th.

Check out the conference website for details including program and schedule, registration information, keynote speakers, preconference sessions, exhibitors and sponsors.

Hope to see you there.

Denice Adkins & Janice Dysart
MLA Conference Registration, co-chairs

Celebrating Libraries and Colleagues

It is always a good time to recognize and celebrate our colleagues and institutions in the library field. Start thinking about who you could nominate for one of our awards.  It could be an outstanding author, librarian, trustee, library student, or institution!  The deadline to nominate that deserving person or library is July 1st!  Visit the MLA Awards Page to see what awards we have available each year.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact any of the members of the Awards committee listed below.

Tony Benningfield, CHAIR, 2017-2020,
Meggan Moore  2017-2020,
Beth Ann Caldarello, Past Chair, 2015-2018,
April Roy, President ex-offficio 2018