MLA Logo Awards


David Clewell, Missouri Poet LaureateThe annual Awards Banquet held at the 2011 conference honored eight outstanding librarians and library supporters who have made a difference in librarianship.  The featured speaker of the evening was Missouri’s Poet Laureate, David Clewell

Award winners of the evening were:

A special appreciation award was also given to 2011 MLA President Karen Hicklin for her superior leadership during the past year.

2011 MLA Award Winners
2011 MLA award recipients at MLA Awards Banquet

Interested in nominating someone for an award next year? Visit our awards page with award descriptions and links to nomination forms.

The Francis "Bud" Barnes Outstanding Legislator Award is sponsored by the Legislative Committee and is given annually to a Missouri legislator in recognition of exceptional contributions to the welfare of Missouri's libraries. The award is named in honor of State Representative Francis (Bud) Barnes (District 96) whose long devotion to Missouri libraries and whose contributions to library-related legislation are gratefully acknowledged. This year’s winner was Representative Jacob Hummel, MO District 108, in St. Louis.

Marilyn McLeodThe Meritorious Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to libraries in Missouri. A recipient must be either an individual outside of the library profession or a retired librarian. Nominees must reside in Missouri and should have made either a contribution to libraries that gained recognition beyond the local level or have made an innovative contribution in the decisive factors in library development.  This year’s winner was Marilyn McLeod.  Marilyn is retired from the Daniel Boone Regional Library in Columbia, MO.

Stephanie BettsThe Outstanding Library Employee Award recognizes a library employee who has made a significant contribution to the improvement and advancement of library and information services.  This year’s award winner was Stephanie Betts of St. Louis.  Ms. Betts is currently employed at the Jack C. Taylor Library at Fontbonne University in St. Louis, MO. 


Brent HusherThe Outstanding New Librarian Award recognizes a librarian who has made a significant contribution to the improvement and advancement of library and information services. Nominees must have one full year of library service in Missouri prior to their nomination and less than five years experience in the library profession. Nominees must possess an MLS degree and must have demonstrated creativity and inventiveness in their achievements.  This year’s award winner is Brent Husher.  Mr. Husher is Coordinator of the Virtual Library at the Miller Nichols Library at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, MO.

The Ronald G. Bohley Award is presented by MLA and the Missouri Library Network Corporation (MLNC) to an individual or individuals whose actions have led libraries to work better together and who exemplifies the best efforts to reach out beyond his or her own institution to promote cooperative activities among libraries.  This year’s award was presented to Erlene Dudley.  Mrs. Dudley is the Library Director at William Woods University in Fulton, MO. 

Chelsea EstesThe Patt Behler Call-to-Conference Award is sponsored by the Children's Services Roundtable (CSRT) and is offered to introduce working librarians to the activities and programs of MLA and CSRT and to encourage involvement and on-going participation in the professional activities of those organizations. The Award covers first-time MLA membership dues, conference registration fees, Thusnelda Schmidt luncheon expenses, and an autographed copy of the luncheon speaker's book. This year’s award was presented to Chelsea Estes.  Ms. Estes is the Young Adult Associate at the Library Center in Springfield, MO.

Nadia GhasediThe Ronald G. Bohley Scholarship is sponsored by the Professionalism, Education, Employment, and Recruitment Special Interest Group (PEER SIG) and is awarded annually to an individual enrolled in or recently accepted into an ALA-accredited program in pursuit of a Master's degree in Library/Information Science. This year’s scholarship was awarded to Nadia Ghasedi.


Karen Hicklin, 2011 MLA PresidentA special recognition award was given to MLA President Karen Hicklin for her outstanding leadership of the organization during the past year.  Mrs. Hicklin is the Director of the Trails Regional Library in Warrensburg, MO.



This page was last updated
November 1, 2011

Give us your feedback